The Never Lessons

by elementhealing

 

Dad

Hello again, welcome back ❤

My Father went home 28 years ago. Not a single day goes by that I don’t think about him. I talk to him a lot and know that he is always near. He rides in the car with me when I’m driving, probably because I drive like my Mother!

There are many things that I remember about my Dad. He was very wise and so kind. He was a very spiritual person and it is from him that I get my Empath ability. He grew up in an abusive home so it was important to him that my siblings and I knew we were loved, and taught to be strong. There were six things that he always told us. I call them…

The Never Lessons

Never give up on your dream. Dad taught us that if it is important to us then it is worth going after even if we are the only ones who believe. Anyone that tries to discourage you has given up on their dream so don’t listen to them. He taught us that age and time is not a determination of ability. Some people don’t come into their own until later in life so there is no such thing as too late unless you give up. Never quit on yourself!

Never give in to fear. Dad taught us that there is always a risk when you go out on a limb, it will be scary but that is no reason to not try. Dad told me more than once that he would rather try, and fail, than not try at all. He left a good job when he was nearing 40 to start his own business. I always respected him for that. When I graduated from college he offered to give me the money to open my own business but I told him that if it was going to happen I wanted to do it on my own like he did. I still remember the pride in his eyes.

Never Lose your sense of humor. Dad used to say “Life is too serious to be taken too seriously”. I catch myself saying it occasionally. You have to be able to laugh at yourself and sometimes I do! He would say if it’s not going to matter in 10 years why waste energy worrying about it, shake your head, have a chuckle and keep going.

Never let them see you sweat. Dad would say that even if you don’t know what you are doing, never let anyone see you looking like you’re worried. Never let anyone intimidate you!

Never Settle. Dad taught us that we should never settle for less that what we want for ourselves. He was always telling us that there is nothing we couldn’t do if we believed and were willing to do the work.

Never let the Bastards get you down. This one, I think, was my Dad’s favorite. I remember the first time I heard him say “The world is full of bastards and there isn’t a damn thing we can do about it but never let the bastards get you down”. I had never heard him swear before I was both shocked and delighted.

This is the legacy of my Father’s love that I am passing on to my son. He is very much like my Father. He has his beautiful blue eyes and his great capacity to love. I am sure that these are also lessons that most parents do their best to teach their children. What a gift it is to have your parents love you enough to validate your uniqueness and teach you strength of mind and spirit.

Have a wonderful week

Blessed Be

