No More Resolutions

by elementhealing

keystone

Hello my friends 🙂 Welcome back I am so glad you are here!

With a new year underway I have been giving thought to the whole idea of resolutions and I decided that they are pretty much a waste of time. I think the issue is partly due to the word itself.

Resolution

The word is so concrete, so final. Every year millions of people resolve, with nothing but good intent, to make a lasting change in their lives and of course before the end of January they’ve failed miserably at making the said change then just give up feeling horrible about themselves. That is not what I want for myself. I want lifelong change for the better. Not good intentions that last for a few days or weeks.

I think setting a goals for the year is a better choice. With a resolution we expect to be victorious right away. Well that’s just not reasonable is it? Change takes time and goals are learning opportunities. Fortunately the year has 365 opportunities to learn and try again!

So instead of Resolutions I am setting Goals. Not a lot, just a couple separated into two lists. Personal Goals and Professional Goals. I actually got the idea while talking with Danny from Dream Big Dream Often over the weekend. He posted a link on the blog of Life of an El Paso Woman, she had a pretty cool New Year Blog Party, about two books that changed his life. That link is here if you would like to read his post.

One of the books was about Keystone habits. I had read about the idea but never read this particular book, The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg. The idea behind Keystone Habits is that instead of making several changes and hope for the best, you make one or two changes to your routine and keep at it. These changes become habit then the habit ripples out resulting in positive changes in other areas of your life.

Overall I am happy with myself and my life. I am way better off than I was 10 years ago. I am happy with the person I am and with the person I am becoming. I am happy that most of the things I wanted to accomplish last year became a reality but that doesn’t mean a couple of changes made this year wouldn’t help. 🙂

For example one of my Goals for the year is to learn to Astral Project on purpose. I can Astral Project but not always when I want or need to. So that is one of my goals. Another goal is to do some form of exercise everyday. I severely injured my back while at work a few years ago and it pretty much stopped me in my tracks. Doctors want to cut me open and attach hardware to my spine in order to fix me but I’m having none of that. Nobody is cutting me open and putting hardware in me! I’ve been giving myself  Reiki treatments and I am very much improved so I want to get back to more physical activity. Being more fit will help support my spine and I will feel better. So that is another goal. In order to achieve these goals I need to form consistent habits.  Keystone Habits.

To get the hang of Astral Projection on purpose I simply need to set aside time to work at it. Perhaps not every day but set days and times that is just for me and for the purpose of learning. I already know I can, it’s just a matter of being able to do on purpose. It’s actually pretty cool too 🙂

For my exercise goal I think having a scheduled time will help. I’m and earth sign, I like schedules! Even if I am simply walking around my block right away in the morning it is a start that I can build from. The key is not to get all bent out of shape and give up if I miss a day. I have all year. I don’t have to accomplish this in a month I just need to keep at it and not give up. I think I got this!

Have a marvelous day my friends 🙂

Blessed Be ❤

