#Girl Love Challenge

by elementhealing

 

10455678_725352737533183_8291314173988878763_n

Lisa from Life of an El Paso Woman nominated me for the Girl Love Challenge! This is something new to me and it is pretty awesome.

The Girl Love Challenge was started by a young woman from Canada. Her name is Lilly Singh. I saw her video on my personal Facebook page a couple of weeks ago. Lilly saw all the ‘girl-on-girl hate’ in the schools, workplaces and social media, and decided to start reversing the trend by promoting #GirlLove across social media. In her video, young women speak out about their respect and gratitude for other women in their lives and in public life. Proceeds from video views will go to the Malala Fund to help educate girls around the world.

Transferring this into the blogging world is a little different from Facebook, Twitter or Instagram, so here is how #GirlLoveChallenge works.

  1. Tell your followers about a famous woman you admire that may be dealing with negativity on a daily basis and why you admire her.
  2. Tell your followers about a woman in your real life that inspires you and why.
  3. Tag five women bloggers that you love. Compliment them and tell them why you love them. Add the comment and a link to your post to their most recent post so they know they have been tagged #GirlLoveChallenge.
  4. If you have been tagged and choose to participate please include the tag Girl Love to your post so we can all see them 🙂

A Famous Woman I admire:

There are several famous women that I admire but none that I am aware is dealing with negativity on a regular basis. A woman I do admire though is Tina Turner, she is an amazing woman. She is incredibly talented, strong and gorgeous. I would like to be so fit, beautiful and still doing what I love when I am in my 70’s! She survived a horrible relationship and once free of it, went on to have a career in music and movies and as an author that has spanned several decades. She is a woman who never gave up! I admire that strength.

A woman in my life that I admire:

That would be my sister. She drives me to the edge of sanity sometimes but I admire her attitude toward life and her strength. I’ve called her the damn the torpedoes girl because growing up, and even now, if there was something she wanted to do but Mom and Dad said no. She would do it anyway! Yup, she would write a please forgive letter and off she would go without any thought of the repercussions. I admire that kind of drive, it’s something I never had within me growing up. I felt invisible. That kind of thought pattern also means she has no patience! If she want something she wants it now! Forget waiting and planning, patience is simply not in her vocabulary. Terry will make it happen now, no matter what!

Another reason I admire her is her ability to survive. She spent 30 years living a life so horrible that the average person cannot even begin to imagine and she raised two kids in the process. I won’t go into the gory details but her strength brought her and her kids through the many dark days.

 

Five Women Bloggers. This is rough, how do I narrow it down to just five :/ I have a running list in my head of fellow bloggers that I would like to meet one day. These lovely ladies are on the list.

Lauren from her blog laurenceallaigh is a lovely young woman I follow here as well as on other social media. She is a bundle of love for everything and everyone. She is a sweet young lady and always has a positive outlook and a heart to make the world a better place by spreading love. I admire that and the resolve to make the world a better place.

Loki’s Little Hippie Witch This is a blog I began following shortly after beginning my blog. I’ve always enjoyed it. She (I don’t know her name) blogs about her life and her path and is a strong young woman that doesn’t give up without a fight. I admire that. She is going to be a guest reader on my Daily Draw and I am excited for that!!

Mary from MariaJob  Maria blogs about the many things she is passionate about. Passion is a key word here. Maria is very passionate about life and making the world a better place. I admire how she enjoys life, every moment of it.

Sandra from A Mommas View This is another blog I began following after starting mine. I always enjoy reading her blog. Sandra is a very sweet lady that writes about a variety of subjects. Sandra is very generous with her blog. She does guest posts and a weekly list of blogs that she found interesting. She always has a positive attitude and that is rare nowadays. I admire that.

Terry from the blog TerrySiverly  This is a blog I began following fairly recently. She blogs about her life and following your dreams. From her blogs she seems like a very genuine and loving lady that just want to help people where and when she can. I admire that.

 

