Encounter

by elementhealing

20150930_071140

A life is not important except
in the impact it has on other lives.
~ Jackie Robinson ~

I posted this quote a few days ago. The words resonated so much truth. My mind keeps coming back to this statement so I thought I would revisit the post and see if I can expand on the thought of Mr. Robinson.

Throughout our lives we will leave a little bit of ourselves with everyone we encounter on our journey. At the end of this lifetime it will not matter whether we became famous or rich. It won’t matter how much education we achieved. It won’t matter if we lived in the “right” neighborhood, who we may have married or what we did for a living. The only two things that will matter is what did we learn and what was it that we left behind.

  • Did we stand up for what was right or were we afraid to speak?
  • Did we search for our truth or believe what we were told?
  • Did we show kindness and love in our interactions with others?
  • Were we grateful for our abundance or did we greedily want more?
  • Did we show mercy when we could have chosen to retaliate?
  • Did we choose peace?
  • Did we take the time to truly listen?
  • Did we love deeply?
  • Did we share our abundance not expecting anything in return?
  • Were we accepting of ideas and lifestyles that didn’t agree with ours?
  • Did we help those in need or revile them for being lazy?

Everything and everyone we encounter has a lesson in it that may not be obvious to us at first. Our reaction will tell us if we choose to learn. Being stuck in a traffic jam with our children in the back seat can teach us and them patience. Giving the last of our cash to a homeless person and taking the time to talk to him, can teach generosity and love and compassion. We come across so many opportunities every day to leave a positive impression in people’s lives.

When my time is done here and I go home I would like to think that I lived a life that demonstrated all of the best human qualities, for my highest good and the good of all. I do fail sometimes, I know that. Not living to our highest potential can be a hard reality to face. To take a look at aspects of our character that we may not want to see can be difficult. It’s important though, don’t you think?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

